Lifetime of Learning Results in Milestone Achievements

One of the proudest moments of my life: receiving my Master's degree in May 2015.

One of the proudest moments of my life: receiving my Master’s degree in May 2015.

At the age of 26, I can say that I’ve achieved milestones. I’ve spent my life learning and advancing my personal and professional development and have graduated with two post-high school degrees. Success is sure sweet, and I know there is still more to learn.

The BA in Communication graduates in the May 2013 Commencement at Maryville University.

The BA in Communication graduates in the May 2013 Commencement at Maryville University.

In May of 2013, I graduated with my Bachelor’s from Maryville University with concentrations in Strategic Communication and Journalism. I had enjoyed participating in the student newspaper as a staff writer and had held several internships during this time period that oriented me to working in a professional environment to further communication goals. This was not my first major at Maryville. I began in the art program and later worked toward an education degree. It was after I realized my passion for writing and art that I decided to pursue a degree in Communication, which I felt would be a great way to fuse my interests together.

After graduation, I literally began pursuit of my Master of Arts in Strategic Communication and Leadership a few days later, to further enhance my leadership skills so that I can aspire to lead others one day. The second year of my program, I had the opportunity to be a graduate assistant in Maryville’s marketing department. I got to do really cool projects such as contribute to the Maryville Magazine and design signage for the St. Louis Speakers Series. I loved interviewing faculty, staff and students to continue to share the Maryville story.

Graduates of the MA in Strategic Communication and Leadership, May 2015.

Graduates of the MA in Strategic Communication and Leadership, May 2015.

In March of 2015, I took the comprehensive written exam for the Master’s capstone. It was the toughest and most enriching experience I have done to this date, and I would not trade the feeling of the weight being lifted off my shoulders after finding out I had passed. I was ready to walk across the stage with my diploma. That happened on May 2, 2015.

This will not be the end of learning for me. I have a lifetime ahead of me to make an impact. It’s now time to make that dream a reality.

Leave a Reply

